Administration and Oversight

The purpose of the Administrative Core is to create a stimulating intellectual environment for health disparities research and connect the Center with students and faculty in the medical district, other academic institutions, the NIH, and Chicago's minority and at-risk populations. We have an Executive Committee within this Core that works with the Director to develop the center's current and long-range agenda. The Executive Committee exercises overall scientific leadership of the Rush CEDHA and meets twice a month to accomplish the Aims of the Center. Through the efforts of the Administrative Core, the Rush CEDHA will become a valued, trusted, institution-wide resource for expanding the capacity and competence of Rush and the Illinois Medical District, and that of NIH funded researchers and students in conducting minority health and health disparities research.

There are two advisory boards within the Center. The Internal Advisory Board is comprised of six representatives from the three partnering institutions - Rush, UIC, and the Core Center. They are experts in their respective fields of aging, health disparities, or HIV and leaders within their institutions.

Denis Evans, MD, Chair
Lynda Powell, PhD
Pauline Maki, PhD
Mardge Cohen, MD
Audrey French, MD

The External Advisory Board is comprised of members from outside the institution, chosen because of their national prominence in research on health disparities, HIV, or aging, and because they represent a broad range of approaches and disciplines.

  • Dr. James Jackson, Daniel Katz Distinguished University Professor of Psychology, University of Michigan, and Director of the Institute for Social Research
  • Dr. Carlos Mendes de Leon, Professor, Department of Epidemiology, University of Michigan School of Public Health
  • Dr. Gail Wyatt, Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences, University of California, Los Angeles, and Associate Director, UCLA AIDS Institute
  • Dr. Rita Effros, Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA